Leave a comment

Frustrating WOD

Bear Complex… clean, front squat, press, back squat, press, repeat x7. No time limit, no AMRAP, no RX weight.. just about doing your best.   Then why did I leave frustrated??  My top weight tonite was 65#. It was the weight I had in my head going into it.  So I should have left feeling satisfied right? WRONG. I know what I use to be capable of doing. 85 or 95 would have been what I would have been about right.   So why the dramatic drop in weight?? Part of weight loss and part is injury.   Huting my wrist a few weeks ago has been a huge set back for me.  My heart wants to do a higher weight.. but my brain keeps telling me.. not yet.  Its not worth going too heavy and risking reinjury.   Its actually been about 2 months since I actually felt injury free.. first it was my shoulder and now wrist.   SO at what point do you just suck it up and work through the injuries?

Today my partner was having a difficult time lowering the bar into the back squat position. She just didnt have enough control.  It made me nervous!  I suggested maintaining her current weight and working on getting a better transition. I could see injury waiting to happen.. heck her neck was already torn up and bruised. But after talking to both coaches, she decided to still increase her weight.  I guess that is where I am just more cautious that most. Looking back I wish I took more time to work my form in the beginning.  With this person I am just worried that they will keep going up in weight, and eventually really hurt themseleves.    So could I have gone up on my weight tonite? YES… but would have it been the smart thign to do and risk more injury .. NO!

Leave a comment